The Evaluation and The Oath

Reality check time! A year ago, I had the (your favorite adjective here) idea of playing through all the old games I found in this pack of oldie DOS games. It was clearly going to be a longtime project. But how is the little project going now?

One year later, I’ve played 30 games out of the 893. That is 3.36% of the games. Perhaps more interesting, this means I need 29.77 years to complete the whole set. 30 years. By that time, I’ll be in the middle of my midlife crisis. Ouch.

So. Unless I want to be a slightly balding and unsatisfied-by-his-marriage semi-old man when I finish this, I need to go faster! I would like to make all sorts of promise like “in a month, I’ll have a lot less of other things to do”. But, while true, I don’t think that will have much of an effect really.

I will try a totally new system and I will base it on someone else’s system. Because systems you steal from someone else are the best ones after all. I have been following Carl Muckenhoupt’s blog for a while. Carl, aka baf, aka System Shock Programmer, aka Baf’s guide to the IF archive maintainer, aka a Hero. Anyway. He has a system he calls The Oath. It basically comes down to: I will complete all games I have, I will blog about my experiences and I will only buy new games in a ratio that decreases the stack of unplayed games.

So. An oath for myself. I don’t care about completion, I care about experiences. I don’t need to blog within 24 hours of playing a game. Also, calculating taxes is for people with too much time on their hand.

Starting on 1 August 2010, I will keep myself to the following policy for at least the next 12 months:

I will play all games on The List until I have a good experience of each. When I feel like I know what a game is about, and I think there is no significant enjoyment or experience left to be found in it, I will write a blog post about it. For each blog post I write, I will grant myself one (1) point. For each game or enhancement (in the form of expansion, DLC, or whatever) to a game I acquire, be it in retail, on distribution platforms like Steam or GOG, directly from the creator of the game, or any other way, I will subtract one point for every ten euro of the total cost of the game, rounded up. I will not purchase a game if it would give me a negative point total.

This oath purposefully excludes free (as in beer or speech) games and purposefully includes the whole piracy thing which I am not a part of anyway! Wew!

Now, I have a Starcraft 2 to earn! And some credit to build before I lose out on all kinds of promotions! Wish me luck.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

