3D World Boxing

3D World Boxing is a boxing game by Simulmondo, apparently an Italian game creator. The game was released in 1995 1992 (I believe now).

Yes, the default option is 0 players.

Yes, the default option is 0 players.

It looks rather pretty with shiny EGA VGA (thanks Nameless One) graphics and beautiful sprites. Inbetween matches there are cutscenes of a reporter discussing the fight or your trainer talking to you. It looks pretty but there’s no real point to it. There is also some MIDI music in the background which actually is rather annoying. No further sounds than that though. There’s also no 3D going on, except there’s a bit of depth to the boxing ring perhaps. I suppose it was the time when 3D had that nice ring to it.

Did I already say it looks pretty?

Did I already mention it looks pretty?

As for the fighting itself, I’m not impressed. There is a lot of lag between keypresses and action, and it seems sometimes keypresses are not registered or registered twice. All I found out is that you move with the arrow keys and perform an action (hook, jab, uppercut, clinch your opponent) with the enter key. The action selected seems random to me, though it might be a function of other keypresses or distance. I couldn’t figure it out with all the lag going on.

And fight!

And fight!

There’s the option to play single matches or tournaments. I didn’t try tournaments because I could barely win a single match and I don’t see a way of improving. It might be my DOSBox settings causing the lag, but this way, it’s not very playable. 5 out of 10 for the lady carrying the round number.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “3D World Boxing”

  1. Nameless One Says:

    Enjoying the reviews. Just mentioning that it’s vga, not ega. Well, carry on then.

  2. E_net4 Says:

    I played this game once, and I didn’t seem to like it. 4D World Boxing is a game to look at instead, which is really in 3D(not 4D, duh).
    Also, keep them going.

  3. 4D Sports Boxing « Let's play oldies! Says:

    […] Ah, now we’re getting somewhere. Boxing in four dimensions. That can only be better than the 3D attempt I previously reviewed. 4D Sports Boxing is a 1991 game published by Mindscape, one of those big publishers. And it shows, […]

  4. 3D World Tennis « Let's play oldies! Says:

    […] play oldies! An exercise in willpower « 3D World Boxing 4D Sports Boxing […]

Leave a Reply

